I’m not too proud to say it!

Some authors don’t like to post good reviews for whatever reason. I’m not knocking that. That’s their choice. Personally, I like to let people know it when they made me jump on my bed with joy like a six year-old.  I want them to know how much what they wrote meant to me. I want to thank them. So, I’m posting this amazing review because it made my century. I could die happy after reading this. I’d rather not, obviously. Die that is. But if I did, it would be happy! Thank you Cindy Meyer of The Book Enthusiast!

Cindy Meyer‘s review

Jul 20, 13

bookshelves: five-star-reads

Read from July 06 to 20, 2013

I was given an ARC in exchange for an honest review, and I think I am about as frustrated after reading this ARC as I have ever been. I stayed up half the night to finish this book because it, quite frankly, would not let me put it down. Did I mention I’m frustrated? Extremely Frustrated! Is there a stronger word than “frustrated?” Why, you may ask? Because the book isn’t being released for three more days, I cannot share my copy with anyone, and I have NO ONE to talk to about it. Frustrated, I tell you! {shakes fists in the air}

Literally from the opening scene I knew I was in for a treat. This book grabbed me immediately and virtually dared me to try to put my Kindle down. In fact, I did try. As the evening turned into the wee hours of the morning, I tried to convince myself that I should get some sleep. Not happening! I couldn’t do it. I rode it out to the final chuckle. It didn’t matter that I would have to function the next day on four hours of sleep. I would not, could not put it down.

Author N.M. Silber has created characters that rival some of the best television and movie comedy ensembles I’ve ever seen. If you thought Lucy and Ethel were capable of getting into predicaments, you haven’t met Gabrielle and Jess. I can’t help thinking that the “Friends” ensemble nearly pales in comparison to what Ms. Silber has created here. In fact, if someone somewhere doesn’t pick this up and run with it as a premise for a TV sit-com or romantic comedy movie, then there’s no justice in the world. My biggest challenge in writing this review is finding enough different words to use in place of “funny.”

The banter between the characters – all of the characters – is laugh-out-loud hilarious. The courtroom scenes are unpredictable and witty. The flirty scenes between Braden and Gabrielle are outrageous, but in a sexy, playful way. Even the supporting characters get in on the madness. Gabrielle tries to warn Braden that, aside from her parents, her other relatives are crazy. Well, crazy doesn’t quite cover it really. When Gabrielle’s “thirty-two-year-old cougar cousin with the big hair, the expensive manicure and the Jimmy Choos,” loudly inquires of Gabrielle if Braden is “built to scale,” I figured we had seen the evidence of crazy. Wrong! It wasn’t until her mother had to shut down a dinner table discussion from Gabrielle’s Bubbe (grandmother) about the merits of “oral attention,” that I realized this family pushes crazy beyond the pale. Oh, and trust me, Braden’s family is equally capable of dishing out their own style of irony.

It is NO exaggeration to say that every single scene in this book for me was perfection. In addition to the outrageous banter between the characters, author N.M. Silber also manages to give the reader an equally pleasing dose of warm and tender romance, and some fulfilling hot and heavy passion as well. I enjoyed this book too much to even dare try to mention plot for fear of spoiling anything for the reader.

Between the characters’ banter, the preposterous “fixes” that Gabrielle manages to coax her best friend Jess into, and the underlying theme of a blossoming romance that I was completely and utterly pulling for, my verdict is that there is clear and convincing evidence that “The Law of Attraction” is THE stand-out romantic comedy of 2013! I cannot wait for the sequel!

Leave a Reply

