Thinking about “changing it up” a little

I’m considering doing something and I hope nobody gets annoyed. (I haven’t “officially” decided yet.) I’ve been writing Winning Appeal, (Mark and Beth’s book), which I had planned to release in September. I was planning to release Power of Attorney, (Jacob and Abby’s book), in December. Lately, though, ideas about POA have been flooding my brain. I’ve been waking up in the middle of the night and scribbling down scenes and jotting down ideas everywhere. I have their entire story plotted and character analysis done. (That’s unusual for me, as I’m usually a hybrid outliner/pantser.) I’ve even begun researching computer crime as that plays a role. This book is similar to my other books in that there will be humor, romance and steam, but Jacob and Abby are outside of my core group of characters. They are also a couple of years older; they practice in federal court and their story has a stronger element of suspense.  My other plots (even with the mystery subplots) have been strongly character-driven, and this one would be too, but it would be faster-moving, more like a thriller in some ways. Anyway, I was thinking about reversing the publishing order of those two books and putting POA out first. Like I said, though, I haven’t decided “officially” yet. I hope you’ll bear with me. I’m one of those flighty creative-types and I can’t always control when or how inspiration strikes.

5 thoughts on “Thinking about “changing it up” a little

  1. sandybar57 says:

    Nadine, go whichever way you feel you need to go. We are looking forward to ALL of your books, not just any certain one. Just please don’t tell us all books will have to be delayed!!! I don’t know if we could handle that! LOL. If you feel that is the way it should be, go for it!

  2. Delia Binder says:

    I’m just waiting for your next book set in the LiL Universe, Nadine – so I don’t care if it’s about Mark and Beth, or Jacob and Abby.

    Or Derek and Rachel…! 😀

  3. Mariana Lee says:

    Go with your gut feeling! I look forward to all of your brilliant books!
    Just don’t make me wait too long in bête ww books LOL

  4. Yana says:

    Hi from The Netherlands! 🙂 I just really want new books. I’ll read which ever one you release first. All of them are really wonderful but I must admit to re-reading Legal Briefs multiple times. It’s made me into one of those I’ll-read-anything-won’t-you-please-just-release-something-anything!? fans to be honest! How about a black young law student heroine for Drew Pierce!? You can use my description and name. :p Ok recap: You’re a really wonderful writer and we’ll read whatever you decide to release. (I knew Jacob would be pushy and want to be published next. :p)

Leave a Reply

