My Writing Process (Blog Hop)

I’d like to thank Kym Grosso for including me in this blog hop.  It was started by Laurel O’Donnell several weeks ago, and Kym was nice enough to tag me.

Under the rules, I’m to answer four questions…

What am I working on?

I am about to release Legally Wed, (A Lawyers in Love novella), and I am currently writing Winning Appeal (Lawyers in Love #4), and beginning to outline and write Power of Attorney (Lawyers in Love #5). I am also writing a short story for a multi-author sexy Romantic Comedy anthology coming out this summer.  After that, I will be including a novella in another multi-author Romantic Comedy anthology coming out just before Halloween. It’s going to be a busy year!

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

My work straddles several genres, romance, comedy/humor, erotica and mystery. That’s what makes it different – the fact that it includes elements from so many different kinds of novels.

Why do I write what I do?

I write books about attorneys because I myself was an attorney and I draw inspiration from that experience. I write humorous books because I love to laugh and to make others laugh. I believe that laughter is good for the soul. I write romantic books because a like a good love story with a happily ever after. I write books with erotic elements because I think that sex is a natural part of a relationship and I enjoy reading it and writing it.  I write books with elements of mystery because I’ve always been a fan of mystery novels and I love figuring out whodunits. I was inspired by a quote by Toni Morrison – “If there’s a book you want to read that hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” I wanted to read books that were funny, sexy, romantic and had some mystery. I didn’t see any that had all of those things, so I wrote some. I have discovered that I love writing them.

How does your writing process work?

I come up with an idea for a plot and I make a loose outline. From there, I write and let the story evolve and change as appropriate along the way. I usually write from beginning to end, but I may write individual scenes out-of-sequence if I am inspired. (Sometimes, I’ll dream a scene or it will just pop into my head.) I write a few chapters and then backtrack and edit them. I often share my scenes with a group of my regular readers to get their feedback and their opinion of them. After I complete a book, I have it edited and beta read before I release it.

Next week, on June 11th, (or thereabouts), you will get to hear from these 3 terrific authors:

Penny Reid – Author of the Best Selling Knitting in the City series

Penny Reid has difficulty writing about herself in the third person. She finds it strange and unsettling. Therefore, Penny will now switch to the first person.
I’m originally from California but now live in the Southeast US with my family. I work full time in the biotech industry as a researcher. I work a lot. I’m also a full time mom to two diminutive adults (boy-5 and girl-3), wife, daughter, knitter, crocheter, sewer, general crafter, and thought hijacker.
I don’t like to sit still unless I’m writing, reading, or knitting and I usually only knit in my knitting group… or at red lights while stuck in traffic. I only read on planes (where I’m trapped). Luckily, I travel a lot for work.
The voices in my head (characters) became so loud over the summer of 2012- specifically, Janie Morris- that I was forced to write Neanderthal Seeks Human, my first attempt at a full length novel. It took me 7 months.
If I could have any job in the world it would be my job because I feel like what I do makes a tangible difference in the lives of every living person. If I could have any life in the world it would be my life. Happiness is the seed of good fortune and success. Do what it takes to be happy and be a source of happiness for others.

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/PennyReidWriter

Blog:  http://reidromance.blogspot.com/

Daisy Prescott, Best Selling author of Geoducks are for Lovers, Ready to Fall and Missionary Position (Coming 6/10)

Before writing funny contemporary romances about adults, I dreamed of being an author while doing a lot of other things. Antiques dealer, baker, blue ribbon pie-maker, fangirl, freelance writer, gardener, pet mom and wife are a few of the titles I’ve acquired along the way.
Born and raised in San Diego, my husband and I currently live in a real life Stars Hollow in the Boston suburbs with our dog, Hubbell, and an imaginary house goat.
Ready to Fall, my second novel, features John Day, the hot, sexy neighbor in my debut novel Geoducks Are for Lovers. Both can be read as standalones.
My third novel, Missionary Position, a contemporary romance/romantic comedy, will be released on June 10, 2014. It stars Selah Elmore, from Geoducks, and can be read as a standalone.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/daisyprescottauthorpage

Blog: http://www.daisyprescott.com

 

Katherine Rhodes Best Selling author of the Club Imperial Series

Armed with her Bachelors of English, Literature from Montclair State University and a pen name, Katherine Rhodes has set her mind to writing erotic romances which are kinky, dirty, and fun. A lackadaisical laundry goddess, expert in the profundities of bad movies and awful literature, she resides in Philadelphia with her husband, three cats and a betta named Fishtian Grey.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/katherine.rhodes2004?fref=ts

Blog: http://katherinerhodes.com/

 

 

Leave a Reply

